Card – Happy Birthday

A birthday card! For a very dear friend of mine. 🙂

click for full view

I wanted to give it the simplistic look for this one. Not too over the top. The card was inspired by one of the many lovely cards shown in the June 2013 issue of the PaperCrafts magazine. But instead of a portrait card, I made it landscape.

BRANDS USED

  • VersaColor
    – (item #VS-154) chalk ink: Bark
  • American Crafts
    – (item #59139) clear stamp
  • Pretty Color
    – (item #37) brown chalk ink
    – (item #WW37A5) wooden stamp
  • KaiserCraft
    – (item #FL560) wood veneer
  • Stabilo
    – (item #88/51) blue pen
  • Sakura
    – (item #LRB03) lace
  • Petaloo
    – (item #1256205) flower embellishment
  • Daiso Japan
    – (item #31) brown chalk
    – (item #35) flower embosser

card_013_1

I love the paper woven background. Never would have thought of attempting that if I had not read that magazine. Although I guess it’s been a while since I last weaved something. I kept confusing between strips and asking myself why aren’t they wove yet. Eventually I managed. I’d actually contemplated to leave the uneven strands of the woven paper as they were, but then just went ahead and neatly trim them.

The wood veneer is by Kaiser Craft. I just simply stamped the sentiment using a brown chalk-ink onto it. It was of good fortune that I have that particular lace in my stock. The colour suits perfectly with my main flower.

card_013_2

Yup, the main star of the card. It’s a ready-made fabric flower by Petaloo.

card_013_3

I stamped this greeting on the left page of the card.

card_013_4

In withholding the colour palette of the card, my message was written in blue pen… well, turquoise actually. My camera just couldn’t get the exact hue. But the main reason I got this shot is the little embossment I did.

card_013_5

How the overall card looks. Luckily I had a suitably coloured envelop in my stock to go along with it.

2 thoughts on “Card – Happy Birthday

Comments are closed.